Frequently asked questions

Is anything unclear? Maybe you will find the answer you are looking for in our list of FAQs! If that is not the case, please contact us, and we will reply as quickly as possible.
Let's go ...

01. Can I send my application by e-mail?

Your application is treated as a pre-contract. To make it legally binding, we need your signature on the form. That is why it is not possible to apply via e-mail.

02. How does the Internet work at ISH?

We have an on-line connection to the server at Innsbruck University. Once you have acquired your Internet authorisation from Innsbruck University, the Medical University or Management Center Innsbruck (MCI), you can make free use of the system at ISH. Students at other institutions also get free use of the ISH Internet connection. You simply need a PC with a network interface card and a network cable (8-pole connector).
The accommodation units at Hormayrstrasse 12 have a connection for TV, Internet and telephone via an external provider. Residents can sign up for a special ISH student package with UPC.

03. When I move in, what do I have to bring with me?

The rooms are completely furnished. ISH provides a mattress and the slatted base. So you only need to bring the bedding, the covers for the mattress, linen, crockery, towels, dishcloths etc. and any electrical or electronic devices you may need (e.g. computer, television, microwave, etc).

04. What do I have to do when I move into my accommodation?

When you move in you must present an ID (with photo) and the residence contract signed by ISH.
Please note the permitted hours for moving in! You can find them in the covering letter sent to you with the residence contract.

05. I suffer from an allergy - could that be a problem?

The ISH buildings are suitable for allergy sufferers. There are no fitted carpets, and all floors can be mopped. Pets are not allowed, and we attach the greatest importance to cleanliness.

06. Where can I smoke?

ISH supports the EU campaign "HELP - for a life without tobacco" and is introducing no-smoking regulations on a step-by-step basis. Smoking is not permitted in any of the apartments and accommodation units. If you wish to smoke, you may do so in two common rooms designated as smoking areas and also on the terrace on the ground floor and the roof terrace on the 6th floor of the main building.
If smoking nevertheless occurs in an accommodation unit, all resulting costs will be charged to the resident(s) on departure. Among other things, such costs can relate to the need to wash curtains, replace mattresses, recover chairs, and repaint the complete unit with special paint, possibly requiring two coats.

07. How far is it to the university?

All the universities and colleges are easily and quickly reached from ISH. The main university buildings with the Faculties of Law and Humanities plus Chemistry and Pharmacy, the Medical Faculty, the main university library, and many of the Natural Science departments are in the immediate vicinity of ISH.
Ausbildungszentrum West (AZW), with its university of applied science study programmes for health professions, is just a five-minute walk away. The Faculty of Social and Economic Sciences, the Theological Faculty and Management Center Innsbruck (MCI), with its various university of applied science study programmes, are 15 minutes away on foot.
Pädagogische Hochschule Tirol (PHT) and the Tourism College are 25 or 30 minutes away on foot and are also well served by bus route T. The Technical University in Technikerstrasse (with its faculties of Architecture, Civil Engineering, Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics and Biology), the Botanical Institute, the University Sports Institute (USI) and the Private University for Health Sciences (UMIT) in Hall are easily reached by bus in about 20 minutes.

08. How far is it to the Old Town and the city centre?

It is just a 10-minute leisurely walk to the city centre and Innsbruck's romantic Old Town. All the amenities like food stores, restaurants, bars, cinema and so on are within walking distance. Innsbruck is a lively city with a varied cultural offering and an exciting student scene.

09. How long does it take to get to the station and the airport?

Innsbruck's two railway stations (Hauptbahnhof and Westbahnhof) are a 20-minute walk or a short bus ride away. And it is not far to the international airport at Innsbruck-Kranebitten (INN): The F bus will get you to the terminal in 15 minutes!

10. What sports are available for students?

ISH has its own facilities, and there are attractive jogging trails and cycle paths by the river. In the Innsbruck area there is a wide choice of locations for jogging, waking and biking. For rock climbers there is also the Tivoli Climbing Centre in Innsbruck, and the University Sports Centre (USI) runs a full programme of sports for all students. Innsbruck also has several excellent outdoor and indoor swimming pools. Go to our links list to learn more!

11. Where can I go skiing?

Innsbruck itself has two modern ski areas. Most of the other ski areas and the Stubai Glacier are served by a free ski bus. For an overview of the ski areas around Innsbruck, go to our links list. All the ski areas offer season tickets, and there are some attractive combined ticketing offers for the season or the year, some of which include other leisure facilities like swimming pools.

12. May anyone else spend the night in my accommodation?

Visitors are allowed from 7 a.m. to midnight. Non-residents may not stay overnight.

13. Can I see the accommodation before I decide?

Our accommodation is always fully occupied. So it is not possible to inspect the units. But the porter will be pleased to show you a collection of photos of the various types of the accommodation. Please find the floor plans of all available accomodation units as Download.

14. How long does a rental agreement last?

The normal term of the agreements is from 1 September to 31 August of the following year. Accommodation in the annexes at Rechengasse 1, Rechengasse 3 and Hormayrstrasse 12 is only available for a full 12-month period.
In the main building (Rechengasse 7), however, exceptions can be made, and in addition to 12-month agreements we also offer 6-month rentals from 1 September to 28 February and from 1 March to 31 August, and 10-month rentals from 1 September to 30 June.
Please note that there is a surcharge for the shorter rental periods of € 30 - € 61 per month depending on the length of the rental and category of accommodation. 10-month rentals cannot be renewed for the following academic year. Where renewal is required, the existing agreement must be extended to the end of the 12-month period at 31 August.

15. What is covered by the regular cleaning service for the bath and kitchen?

The bath/WC and kitchen are cleaned once a fortnight. In the bath/WC the service covers the toilet bowl plus seat and lid, wash basin, shower screen and tray, and the taps, and in the kitchen the sink and taps, hot plates and stainless steel surfaces.
Please note that this is a basic cleaning service and does not relieve residents of their duty to do their own cleaning.

16. Are there any electrical appliances in the accommodation units?

You must bring your own TV, computer and any electrical appliances you may require (e.g. toaster, mixer, coffee machine, hairdryer).

17. Is there a telephone in the accommodation?

Every accommodation unit has a telephone. Internal calls are free. You will be billed for all outgoing calls on a monthly basis. Please note that the telephone may not be unplugged for safety reasons!

18. What kind of receiver do I need for the television?

Our accommodation units have an aerial socket. You merely need a TV set with an aerial cable.

19. Is it possible to install a fax machine?

No, that is not possible at ISH. Please note that the telephone may not be unplugged for safety reasons!

 
Internationales Studentenhaus Innsbruck – Rechengasse 7 – office@studentenhaus.at – Tel: +43 (512) 501-0 – Fax: +43 (512) 501-905

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Sind noch Fragen offen? Vielleicht finden Sie die Antwort in unseren FAQ's! Sollte dies nicht der Fall sein, nehmen Sie bitte mit uns Kontakt auf - wir werden uns bemühen, Ihre Fragen zeitnah zu beantworten.

Los geht's...

01. Kann ich mich auch per E-Mail anmelden?

Wir werten Ihre Anmeldung als Vorvertrag. Da Ihre Unterschrift nur am Papier rechtsverbindlich ist, ist eine Anmeldung per E-Mail leider nicht möglich.

02. Wie funktioniert das Internet im ISH?

Wir sind online am Server der Universität Innsbruck. Mit der Zugangsberechtigung der Universität Innsbruck, der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck und des Management Center Innsbruck (MCI) kann das Internet vom ISH aus kostenlos genützt werden. Auch für Studierende anderer Einrichtungen bietet das ISH einen hauseigenen Internetanschluss kostenlos an. Sie benötigen lediglich einen PC mit installierter Netzwerkkarte und ungekreuztem Netzwerkkabel (8-poliger Stecker).

Die Wohnungen der Hormayrstraße 12 verfügen über einen Provider-Anschluss der Firma UPC für TV, Internet und Festnetztelefon - hier kann mit der Firma UPC ein Vertrag für ein spezielles ISH-Studierenden-Package abgeschlossen werden.

03. Was muss ich beim Einzug ins ISH selbst mitbringen?

Die Zimmer sind vollständig möbliert. Das ISH stellt Ihnen zudem eine Matratze mit Lattenrostschoner zur Verfügung. Bitte bringen Sie Matratzenschoner, Bettzeug, Bettwäsche, Geschirr, Handtücher, Geschirrtücher u.dgl. sowie benötigte elektronische Geräte (z.B. Computer, Fernseher, Mikrowelle) selbst mit.

04. Was muss ich beim Einzug ins ISH beachten?

Beim Einzug sind ein Lichtbildausweis sowie der vom ISH unterschriebene Benützungsvertrag vorzuweisen.

Bitte beachten Sie die jeweils möglichen Einzugszeiten! Diese werden im Begleitschreiben zu Ihrem Benützungsvertrag angeführt.

05. Ich habe eine Allergie - bin ich im ISH richtig?

Das ISH ist für Allergikerinnen und Allergiker grundsätzlich gut geeignet. Im gesamten Haus sind wischbare Böden (keine Teppichböden), Haustiere sind nicht erlaubt und es wird höchster Wert auf Sauberkeit gelegt.

06. Wo darf ich rauchen?

Das ISH schließt sich der EU-weiten Kampagne "HELP - für ein rauchfreies Leben" an. In diesem Sinne haben wir uns entschieden, den Nichtraucherschutz im ganzen ISH umzusetzen. In den Apartments und Wohnungen sowie in den Aufenthals-/ Gemeinschaftsräumen ist das Rauchen daher nicht gestattet. Gerne können Sie jedoch auf der Terrasse im Erdgeschoß sowie auf der Dachterrasse im 6. Stock des Hauptgebäudes rauchen.

Sollte im Apartment dennoch geraucht werden, müssen wir leider anfallende Mehrkosten bzw. Zusatzkosten beim Auszug in Rechnung stellen. Unter anderem können Kosten für die Reinigung der Vorhänge, evt. Tausch der Matratze, Neubezug der Stühle, Kosten für das Ausmalen des kompletten Apartments mit Spezialanstrich, ggf. auch 2-maliges Ausmalen, u.a.m. anfallen.

07. Wie weit ist es zur Uni?

Vom ISH aus sind sämtliche Universitäten und Hochschulen sehr schnell und unkompliziert erreichbar. Das Universitäts-Hauptgebäude mit der juridischen und geisteswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, der Chemie und Pharmazie, die medizinische Fakultät, die Universitäts-Hauptbibliothek und eine Vielzahl an naturwissenschaftlichen Instituten liegen sogar in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft des ISH.

Das Ausbildungszentrum West (AZW) mit Fachhochschul-Studiengängen für Gesundheitsberufe liegt nur fünf Gehminuten entfernt. Die Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, die katholisch-theologische Fakultät sowie das Management Center Innsbruck (MCI) mit mehreren Fachhochschul-Studiengängen sind in 15 Gehminuten erreichbar.

Die Pädagogische Hochschule Tirol (PHT) und das Tourismuskolleg erreichen Sie zu Fuß in 25 Minuten bzw. 30 Minuten, zudem bestehen gute Busverbindungen über die Linie T. Die Universität in der Technikerstraße mit den Fakultäten für Architektur, Bauingenieurwesen, Mathematik, Informatik, Physik und Biologie, das Botanische Institut, das Universitäts-Sportinstitut (USI) sowie die Private Universität für Gesundheitswissenschaften (UMIT) in Hall sind mit dem Bus in rund 20 Minuten bequem erreichbar.

08. Wie weit ist es zur Altstadt bzw. ins Zentrum?

In gemütlichen 10 Gehminuten kommen Sie in das Zentrum und die stimmungsvolle Innsbrucker Altstadt. Sämtliche wichtige Einrichtungen wie Lebensmittelgeschäfte, Restaurants, Bars, Kino und dergleichen sind großteils fußläufig erreichbar. Innsbruck ist eine lebendige Stadt mit einem abwechslungsreichen Kulturangebot sowie zahlreichen Treffpunkten für Studierende.

09. Wie lange brauche ich zum Bahnhof bzw. zum Flughafen?

Die beiden Bahnhöfe in Innsbruck, den Hauptbahnhof und den Westbahnhof, erreichen Sie in rund 20 Minuten zu Fuß oder bequem per Bus. Auch zum Internationalen Flughafen Innsbruck-Kranebitten (INN) ist es nicht weit: Mit der Buslinie F können Sie in 15 Minuten am Terminal stehen!

10. Welche Sportmöglichkeiten gibt es für Studierende?

Im ISH selbst stehen spezielle Räumlichkeiten zur Verfügung. Am Inn gibt es attraktive Laufstrecken und Fahrradwege, zudem finden sich in der Umgebung zahlreiche Möglichkeiten zum Laufen, Wandern und Radfahren. Kletterbegeisterte sind im Kletterzentrum Tivoli gut aufgehoben. Das Universitäts-Sportinstitut (USI) bietet ein breites Spektrum an unterschiedlichen Sportarten für alle Studierenden, zudem gibt es in Innsbruck mehrere spezialisierte Hallen- und Freibäder. Sehen Sie sich diesbezüglich auch in unserer Linksammlung um!

11. Wo kann ich in der Umgebung Schifahren?

Innsbruck selbst verfügt über zwei moderne Schigebiete. Die Schiarenen der Umgebung und der Stubaier Gletscher sind fast ausnahmslos mit dem Gratis-Schibus erreichbar. Einen Überblick über die Schigebiete der Umgebung bietet unsere Linksammlung. In allen Schigebieten werden Saisonkarten angeboten, daneben gibt es mehrere attraktive Kartenverbünde mit einem Saison- oder Jahreskartenangebot, die teilweise auch Bäder und andere Freizeiteinrichtungen mit einschließen.

12. Darf in meinem Apartment jemand übernachten?

Besuche im ISH sind in der Zeit von 7:00 - 24:00 Uhr erlaubt. Übernachtungen hausfremder Personen sind leider nicht gestattet.

13. Kann ich mir die Apartments vorher ansehen?

Unsere Apartments sind immer vollständig vermietet. Eine Besichtigung der Apartments ist daher leider nicht möglich. Gerne können Sie jedoch beim Empfangsteam eine umfassende Fotomappe über die einzelnen Apartments ansehen.
Die Grundrisse aller zur Verfügung stehenden Wohnungstypen finden Sie hier als Download.

14. Wie lange ist die Dauer meines Mietvertrages?

Die Laufzeit der Benützungsverträge erstreckt sich vom 1. September des Jahres bis 31. August des Folgejahres.


15. Was beinhaltet die regelmäßige Reinigung der Hygienebereiche?

Die Hygienebereiche in den Apartments - dies sind Bad/WC und Küche - werden 14-tägig gereinigt. Die Reinigung in Bad und WC umfasst die WC-Schale inkl. Sitz und Deckel, Waschbecken, Duschwand und Duschboden sowie die Armaturen. In der Küche wird eine Reinigung der Armaturen, der Herdplatten, der Nirofläche sowie der Nirospüle durchgeführt.

Diese Reinigung ist als Grundreinigung zu verstehen und ersetzt keinesfalls die eigenständige Reinigung durch die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner.

16. Sind im Apartment elektrische Kleingeräte vorhanden?

Benötigte elektrische Kleingeräte (z.B. Toaster, Mixer, Kaffeemaschine, Föhn) sowie PC und TV-Gerät sind selbst mitzubringen.

17. Ist im Apartment ein Telefonapparat vorhanden?

In jedem Apartment ist ein Telefonapparat vorhanden. Zwischen den einzelnen Apartments können kostenlose Gespräche geführt werden, Gespräche außerhalb des ISH werden monatlich abgerechnet. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Telefonapparat aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht ausgesteckt werden darf!

18. Welcher Receiver wird für den Fernseher benötigt?

Unsere Apartments sind mit einem Antennenanschluss ausgestattet. Sie benötigen lediglich ein Antennenkabel und ein Fernsehgerät.

19. Besteht die Möglichkeit ein Fax anzuschließen?

Diese Möglickeit besteht im ISH nicht. Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Telefonapparat aus Sicherheitsgründen nicht ausgesteckt werden darf!

 
Internationales Studentenhaus Innsbruck – Rechengasse 7 – office@studentenhaus.at – Tel: +43 (512) 501-0 – Fax: +43 (512) 501-905